Australian Curriculum

The Australian Curriculum is designed to teach students what it takes to be confident and creative individuals and become active and informed citizens. It sets the goal for what all students should learn as they progress through their school life – wherever they live in Australia and whatever school they attend.

What are the learning areas of the Australian Curriculum? From the first year of schooling to Year 10, students develop knowledge and skills in eight learning areas:


  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Health and Physical Education (HPE)
  • Humanities and Social Sciences (HASS)
  • The Arts
  • Technologies
  • Languages

For further information refer to the website: